If you live in Hartford car insurance is mandated by state law. Connecticut hosts almost three million license drivers every day, and regulations help protect all who traverse the miles of interstate.
Connecticut law has established several minimum insurance requirements for automobile owners. These regulations include:
$20,000/$40,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$40,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$20,000 bodily injury per person per accident
10,000 property damage liability
Although the state has not established collision or personal liability policies as mandatory, Hartford car insurance experts will tell you how important it is to secure this additional coverage. By supplementing the minimum requirements with the additional coverage, you are able to protect your financial assets in the event of a successful lawsuit settlement.
Consequences of No Coverage
If you fail to show proof of insurance coverage to a law enforcement officer who requests to see it, a progressively more costly system of consequences has been established. The first offense may carry three months of prison time and a minimum fine of $110. You may also have your vehicle impounded and your license suspended. The jail time, fines, and suspension timeline increase upon subsequent convictions.
No matter where you live in Connecticut, abide by the law and carry the required automotive policy. This will save you from legal problems if you are ever in an accident. Contact your local agent to increase your coverage and further guarantee your financial situation if a lawsuit is filed.